Home > SHOP > Birte (DK)
Birte is 3-ply, DK weight 75% superwash merino, 15% cashmere and 10% bombyx silk DK weight.

Each skein is 3.98 ounces (113g) and 275 yards (251m) and knits at approximately 20-24 stitches over 4 inches (on US 4-6).

Birte (pronounced BEER-tah) is named for the Danish goddess of the home and crafting. This luxurious yarn is a blend of superwash merino, cashmere, and bombyx silk and is perfect for anything: scarves, shawls, hats, cowls, mitts, vests, sweaters and special socks to pamper your feet.

Birte is the DK weight version of Verdande (worsted), Sunna (fingering), and Nona (heavy laceweight, with a higher luxury fiber content).

Sort By:
Page of 1
Ball Winding Fee


Have your yarn wound into center-pull balls for you!

The fee is per skein. Please add the appropriate number to your order as follows:

If you would like your entire order wound, please add the number of ball winding fees equal to the total number of skeins in your order.

If you only want certain yarns wound, please note which yarns in the "Comments" section of your order.

Ball winding is only available if it is added to your order, at the time your order is placed, for the number of skeins you'd like wound. Thank you!

Please note that yarns which have been wound into balls cannot be returned. Thank you!

Price: $2.00
485 in stock!
   
 



Pattern Possibilities for Birte:

Arbutus by Jane Richmond: www.ravelry.com/patterns/library/arbutus

Asking for Roses Shawl by Amy Swenson: http://www.ravelry.com/patterns/library/asking-for-roses

Baby Cables and Big Ones, Too: http://www.ravelry.com/patterns/library/baby-cabl...

Cabled Keyhole Scarf by Anne Hanson: http://www.ravelry.com/patterns/library/cabled-keyhole-scarf

Chance of Showers by Heidi Kirrmaier: www.ravelry.com/patterns/library/chance-of-showers

Going Green by Susan MacIver: http://www.ravelry.com/patterns/library/going-green-2

Grove Mittens by Jared Flood: http://www.ravelry.com/patterns/library/grove-2

Hawthorne by Susanna IC: http://www.ravelry.com/patterns/library/hawthorne-3

Highlander by Anne Hanson: http://www.ravelry.com/patterns/library/highlander

Lucette Sweater by Amy Herzog: http://www.ravelry.com/patterns/library/lucette

Jacques Cousteau Hat by Lalla Pohjanpalo: http://www.ravelry.com/patterns/library/jacques-cousteau-hat

Juneberry Triangle by Jared Flood: http://www.ravelry.com/patterns/library/juneberry-triangle

Mine Hill Cardigan by Amy Herzog: http://www.ravelry.com/patterns/library/mine-hill-cardigan

Petrea Sweater by Amy Herzog: http://www.ravelry.com/patterns/library/petrea

Punch
and Judy by Anne Hanson: http://www.ravelry.com/patterns/library/punch-and-judy

Natalya Gauntlets by Jody Pirello:
http://www.ravelry.com/patterns/library/natalya


Rene by Anne Hanson:
http://www.ravelry.com/patterns/library/rene-4

Sangria Skirt by Anne Hanson: www.ravelry.com/patterns/library/sangria

Sapwood Sweater by Amy Herzog: http://www.ravelry.com/patterns/library/sapwood

Winding River Cowl by Kathleen Cubley: http://www.ravelry.com/patterns/library/winding-river-cowl

Xenia Shawl by Vanessa Smith: www.ravelry.com/patterns/library/xenia

116-6 Mittens with Pattern in "Karisma": http://www.ravelry.com/patterns/library/116-6-mittens-with-pattern-in-karisma

#12 Skirt by Nora Gaughan: www.ravelry.com/patterns/library/12-skirt

For a smattering of projects check out the Birte project pages on Ravelry: http://www.ravelry.com/yarns/library/spirit-trail-fiberworks-birte/projects?page=1