Home > YARNS > Luna (Worsted)
Luna is 4-ply, worsted weight 100% non-shrink wool. This wool is grown and processed in accordance with GOTS organic standards, even through the process to make it machine washable. My dyes are not completely organic, so I don't list it as an organic product. It's a fantastic new base which, because of the gentler organic processing, retains its wooly characteristics and feel.

200 yards per 3.5 ounce / 110 gram skein.

Gauge: 18-20 stitches / 4 inches on US 6-7

Luna is the worsted weight version of Eos (fingering) and Selene (dk), both of which will be making their debut in 2017. It is a beautiful 4-ply yarn which works well in a multitude of projects ~ lace, cables, stockinette, colorwork. It's fantastic for baby and child items, or gifts given to non-textile artists, where machine washing is required or inevitable.

Luna is the Roman Goddess personifying the moon. She is often presented as the female counterpart to the sun, and is often depicted driving a chariot drawn by horses or oxen.
Sort By:
Page of 1
Luna ~ Lucretia (pink)


Lucretia is a deep mauve-purple-pink, more purple and mauve than pink. Semi-solid.

Great on its own or as a contrast color in colorwork.

100% non-shrink organic wool (although my dyes are not all organic), worsted weight.

18-20 stitches / 4 inches on US 6-7.

200 yards per 3.5 ounce / 110 gram skein.

Lucretia is named for Lucretia Mott (1701-1800), an American Quaker, abolitionist, a women's rights activist, and a social reformer. She formed the idea of reforming the position of women in society when she was amongst the women excluded from the World Anti-Slavery Convention in 1840. In 1848 she was invited by Jane Hunt to a meeting that led to the first meeting about women's rights. Mott helped write the Declaration of Sentiments during the 1848 Seneca Falls Convention. (wikipedia)

Price: $27.00
4 in stock!
Luna ~ Marie (pink)


Marie is a lovely, soft mauve-pink with hints of pink-gold and darker mauve. Semi-solid.

Great on its own or as a contrast color in colorwork.

100% non-shrink organic wool (although my dyes are not all organic), worsted weight.

18-20 stitches / 4 inches on US 6-7.

200 yards per 3.5 ounce / 110 gram skein.

Marie is named for Marie de Gourney (1565-1645), a French writer, who wrote a novel and a number of other literary compositions, including two protofeminist works, The Equality of Men and Women (1622) and The Ladies' Grievance (Les femmes et Grief des dames, 1626). In her novel Le Promenoir de M. de Montaigne qui traite de l’amour dans l’œuvre de Plutarque she explored the dangers women face when they become dependent on men. She insisted that women should be educated. (wikipedia)

Price: $27.00
3 in stock!
   
 



Pattern possibilities for Luna:


Ayana Sweater by Amy Herzog: http://www.ravelry.com/patterns/library/ayana

Cocoon Me by Rose Beck: www.ravelry.com/patterns/library/cocoon-me-cowl--shawlette

Dovetail Cowl by Carina Spencer: http://www.ravelry.com/patterns/library/dovetail-cowl

End of May Hat by Mandy Powers: http://www.ravelry.com/patterns/library/end-of-may-hat

End of May Mittens by Mandy Powers: http://www.ravelry.com/patterns/library/end-of-may-mittens

Fall Line by Anne Hanson: www.ravelry.com/patterns/library/fall-line-scarf

Fellows Cloche by Amy Herzog: http://www.ravelry.com/patterns/library/fellowes-...

Gaeda by Susanna IC: http://www.ravelry.com/patterns/library/geada

Habitat Hat by Jared Flood: http://www.ravelry.com/patterns/library/habitat

Hiro Cardigan by Julia Farwell-Clay: http://www.ravelry.com/patterns/library/hiro

Hourglass Throw by Anne Hanson: http://www.ravelry.com/patterns/library/hourglass-throw

Just Enough Ruffles by Laura Chau: www.ravelry.com/patterns/library/just-enough-ruffles

Koolhaas Hat by Jared Flood: http://www.ravelry.com/patterns/library/koolhaas

Levenwick by Gudrun Johnston: http://www.ravelry.com/patterns/library/levenwick

Skipperdee Cardigan by Julia Farwell-Clay: http://www.ravelry.com/patterns/library/skipperdee

Slofock Hat by Anne Hanson: http://www.ravelry.com/patterns/library/slofock-cap

Slofock Mitts by Anne Hanson: http://www.ravelry.com/patterns/library/slofock-mitts

Sofya Cowl by Jennifer Dassau: www.ravelry.com/patterns/library/sofya-cowl

Terra by Jared Flood: http://www.ravelry.com/patterns/library/terra-4

Turbulence Cowl by Laura Chau: http://www.ravelry.com/patterns/library/turbulence-cowl

Twinings Sweater by Amy Herzog: http://www.ravelry.com/patterns/library/twinings

Trimmings Sweater by Amy Herzog: http://www.ravelry.com/patterns/library/trimmings

Wintry Mix Sweater by Amy Herzog: http://www.ravelry.com/patterns/library/wintry-mi...