Home > SHOP YARNS > Brigantia (DK)
Brigantia is 3-ply DK weight, 85% Polwarth (a crossbreed sheep which is 75% Merino and 25% Lincoln Longwool) and 15% Silk.

8 ounces / 210g / 600 yard skeins

22-24 stitches / 4 inches on US size 3-6 needles.

Polwarth is nearly as soft as merino, but with the longer staple length of Lincoln it pills much less than merino. 15% silk adds sheen and wonderful drape to this all-around workhorse of a yarn. Brigantia is fantastic in any stitch pattern you can imagine. It creates a fabulous, wonderful, drapey lace fabric but works equally well in cables and other stitch patterns, and shines in stockinette. Knit it more tightly for DK weight patterns, a bit more loosely for light worsted, and much looser for lacey, drapey projects.

Brigantia is a celtic goddess (also known as Brigid or Bridget) considered the patroness of poetry, smithing, medicine, arts and crafts, cattle and other livestock, sacred wells, serpents (in Scotland) and the arrival of early spring. She is sometimes associated with Minerva and also considered a weaving diety.

Sort By:
Page of 1
Ball Winding Fee


Have your yarn wound into center-pull balls for you!

The fee is per skein. Please add the appropriate number to your order as follows:

If you would like your entire order wound, please add the number of ball winding fees equal to the total number of skeins in your order.

If you only want certain yarns wound, please note which yarns in the "Comments" section of your order.

Ball winding is only available if it is added to your order, at the time your order is placed, for the number of skeins you'd like wound. Thank you!

Please note that yarns which have been wound into balls cannot be returned. Thank you!

Price: $2.00
491 in stock!
   
 




Some pattern possibilities for Brigantia:

And So Are You by Rose Beck: http://www.ravelry.com/patterns/library/and-so-are-you

Baby Cables and Big Ones, Too by Suvi Simola: http://www.ravelry.com/patterns/library/baby-cables-and-big-ones-too

Bloch Ness Cardigan by Anne Hanson: www.ravelry.com/patterns/library/bloch-ness

Byrony Vest by Amy Herzog: http://www.ravelry.com/patterns/library/bryony

Chandelle Cowl by Megan Goodacre: www.ravelry.com/patterns/library/chandelle-cowl

Crocus Meadow by Wioletta "Wiolett": http://www.ravelry.com/patterns/library/crocus-meadow

Caulfield Sweater by Amy Herzog: http://www.ravelry.com/patterns/library/caulfield

Essential Cardigan by Laura Grutzeck: http://www.ravelry.com/patterns/library/essential-cardigan-2

Gnarled Oak Cardigan by Alana Dakos: http://www.ravelry.com/patterns/library/gnarled-oak-cardigan

Lanata Cardigan by Amy Christoffers: www.ravelry.com/patterns/library/lanata

Lucette Sweater by Amy Herzog: http://www.ravelry.com/patterns/library/lucette

Mountain Ash by Kate Gagnon Osborn: http://www.ravelry.com/patterns/library/mountain-ash

New Towne Cardigan by Amy Herzog: http://www.ravelry.com/patterns/library/new-towne

Peu de Pluie Scarf by Anne Hanson: http://www.ravelry.com/patterns/library/peu-de-pluie-scarf

Stacked Columns Wrap and Shawl by Rose Beck: http://www.ravelry.com/patterns/library/stacked-columns-wrap-and-shawl

Stellaria by Susanna IC: http://www.ravelry.com/patterns/library/stellaria-2

Twinflower Sweater by Amy Herzog: http://www.ravelry.com/patterns/library/twinflowe...

Vodka Lemonade by Thea Colman: http://www.ravelry.com/patterns/library/vodka-lemonade

For more project possibilites please see the Brigantia Project Page on Ravelry: http://www.ravelry.com/yarns/library/spirit-trail-fiberworks-brigantia/projects